Greetings from Dar es Salaam!

Having been in Tanzania for over a fortnight, I thought it was time to put up a few photos.
Here are some of the things I’ve seen so far in my orientation:

snail 1 gecko 1

 

 

A couple of small critters,
one much quicker than the other!

 

 

 

There’s always something new to see on the roads in Dar es Salaam.

This guy was carrying an impressive load of bananas!

 

 

IMG_20150202_104137301

I love looking at the colourful fabrics.

These are called kikoi.

 

 

IMG_20150130_165327417_HDR

Although the windows here have mesh screens, it’s still advisable to sleep under a mosquito net.
I quite like it; it feels very secure.

It’s annoying though when I’ve just tucked myself in and then realise I’ve left the light on, so I have to get all un-tucked again!

IMG_20150121_110853119

 

Speaking of mosquitos, as part of our orientation we practised testing ourselves for malaria. It was a little messy on my part, but the test came out negative – phew!

One thought on “Greetings from Dar es Salaam!

  1. Thank you for sharing the photos! Especially of the orange/blue lizard! I am so impressed you managed a good-quality photo, I never did! And I so agree on the mosquito net front, I loved feeling so cosy and wrapped up and safe… and annoyed when the light or need-to-pee was on! Thank you for sharing and selfishly, bringing familiar memories back for me. 🙂 Bless you, friend. Safari njema!

    Like

Leave a Reply

