Blast from the past

Last weekend I went to a school reunion; I really enjoyed catching up with old friends and teachers.

However, what has stayed in my mind most is one of the songs we sung in the service in chapel. It’s a hymn I’m pretty sure I haven’t sung, or even heard, since school. I remembering enjoying it at the time, but it felt particularly pertinent singing it again now.

I will be with you, wherever you go,
go now throughout the world.
I will be with you in all that you say,
go now and spread my word.

Come, walk with me on stormy waters.
Why fear? Reach out and I’ll be there.

I will be with you …

And you, my friend, will you now leave me,
or do you know me as your Lord?

I will be with you …

Your life will be transformed with power,
by living truly in my name.

I will be with you…

And if you say, “Yes, Lord, I love you,”
then feed my lambs and feed my sheep.

I will be with you…

“When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. For I am the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.” (Isaiah 43:2-3)

“And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” (Matthew 28:20)

Leave a Reply

